Obie Logo (Large)

2022 Football Season Closes with Annual Banquet

A packed house of players, parents, coaches and fansput closure to the season at St. George’s Church by recognizing of the outstanding performances exhibited by the members of the 2022 football team on and off the field.  It was a team that finished with a 12-2 record and a 15th regional playoff title, their fifth in the last six years.  It  was also a team that, although they didn’t bring home the Division 2 state championship trophy, did defeat during the regular season Lakewood St. Edward, the No. 1 team  in Division 1.

Mate Moore Massillon
2022 Nate Moore at the 2022 banquet

“This has been a group since Day 1 that has answered the bell,” said Head Coach Nate Moore.  “These guys have been awesome.  Thanks to our senior class.  It was a small senior class; small but powerful.  They ground it out every day.  It’s those guys that really make our program special.  We had a tremendous season.  I’m very proud of that.  A final four appearance.  Six straight 10+ win seasons.  Six straight appearances in the regional finals.”

Moore said that defeating St. Edward was a memorable moment, since (1) they were the No. 1 team in the state and (2) the quarterback / wide receiver corps came out “firing hot.”  But he also mentioned Austintown, an undefeated team the Tigers faced the following week.  Rather than having a let down following such a maximum effort against St. Eds, the Tigers held it together and produced one of their best performances of the season.  “We played an absolutely tough game,” said the coach.  “We dominated the game.  It was a memorable victory.”  Then there was the win over Canton McKinley, the seventh in a row.  “The Tigers went out and took care of business,” said Moore.  ‘Nuff said.

Academically, the team recorded an outstanding 3.55 GPA collective average.

Along the way, several No. 1 player and team records were set, including:

  • Willtrell Hartson – Single season total yards rushing (2,042), single season points (208), single season touchdowns (tie) (34) and career yards per game (132.8).
  • Dorian Pringle – Single season tackles for loss (21.5) and tackles for loss yards (114).
  • Brandon Carman – Single season quarterback sack yards (57).
  • Team – Single season tackles for loss (109), tackles for loss yards (476) and quarterback sack yards (205).  In addition five different players recorded at least ten tackles for loss, more players than any other team since defensive records were kept.

Six players were named All-Ohio, including:

  • Willtrell Hartson – Senior running back – 1st Team
  • Ardell Banks – Senior wide receiver – 1st Team
  • Dorian Pringle – Junior inside linebacker – 1st Team
  • Marcus Moore – Senior defensive lineman – 2nd Team
  • Evan Sirgo – Junior offensive lineman – Honorable Mention
  • Cody Fair – Junior inside linebacker – Honorable Mention

Outgoing Booster Club President Harry Haines addressed a Tiger gathering for the last time and introduced 2023 President Rob Maylor.

Following dinner, the assistant coaches presented the various participation awards, while expounding on each player’s individual achievements and effort.  Then the special awards, most of which were selected by the players themselves, were presented by various teammates to the winners.  They included:

  • Coach of the Year – Spencer Leno (inside linebackers)
  • Captain Awards – Zach Liebler, Angelo Salvino, Marcus Moore and Willtrelll Hartson
  • Brandon Burlsworth Character Award – Michael Mercurio
  • Thayer Munford ACT Award – Christian Kring
  • John Pizzino, Sr. Academic Football $1,000 Scholarship – Christian Kring
  • Paul David Memorial Academic Award – Yanii Berry
  • Bob Smith / Bill Snyder Sportsmanship Award – Christian Kring
  • Coach Lee Tressel Citizenship Award – Christian Kring
  • Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Ransom Els and Jacques Carter
  • Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Deangelo Zimmerman
  • Hardnose Award – Willtrell  Hartson (presented earlier at the Touchdown Club)
  • Carl “Ducky” Schroeder Outstanding Lineman Award – Marcus Moore
  • Offensive Player of the Year – Ardell Banks
  • Defensive Player of the Year – Dorian Pringle
  • Special Teams Player of the Year – Angelo Salvino
  • Lifter of the Year – Cody Fair
  • Tom Harp Coaches’ Award – Zach Liebler
  • Most Valuable Player – Willtrell Hartson

Willtrell Hartson Massillon Ohio StateMost Valuable Player Willtrell Hartson.  A commemorative football was also presented which displays the rushing and scoring records he set.

Ardell Banks Kentucky Dorian PringleOffensive Player of the Year Ardell Banks and Defensive Player of the year Dorian Pringle.

Christian Kring MassillonJohn Pizzino Sr. Academic Football $1,000 Scholarship Award winner Christian Kring.  Also shown are Mark Fair and Anthony Repp.

Coach of the Year Spencer Leno and Academic Award winner Yanii Berry.

Nate Moore MassillonNate Moore receiving a commemorative photo display for breaking Paul Brown’s win record.  Also shown are Rob Maylor and Ed Starcher.

"Angelo Salvino" "Marcus Moore" "University of Akron"Special Teams Player of the Year Angelo Salvino and Lineman of the Year Marcus Moore.

Through the Roof Award Winners Willtrell Hartson (Offensive Player of the Year), Marcus Moore (Leader of the Year) and Dorian Pringle (Defensive Player of the Year) presented by Ray Jeske (WTIG) (left) and and Fred Horner (Advanced Industrial Roofing) (right).