It was a season-ending banquet unlike any previous one on account of the Covid-19 Pandemic.  With the team, coaches and families barred from gathering for a meal and award ceremony, this one was done on Zoom Meeting.  In spite of this constraint, it came off without a hitch and was very professional.

Outgoing Booster Club President Eric Smith opened the event by thanking all of the support he received from the many club members throughout the year.  He emphasized that the job is really time-consuming and takes away from one’s family and personal endeavors for an entire year.  But he wouldn’t have it any other way.  “This job as president is an honor,” he said.  “I love this town.  I love this team.  And I never apologize for being a Tiger fan.”  Eric then introduced next year’s president, Tim Boerner, who will be the 88th leader for a club that has been in existence since 1934.  Finally, he turned the banquet over to Head Coach Nate Moore, who handled the rest of the night.

“It was an incredible year for the Massillon Tigers,” he said, referring to the entire football program.  “I’m excited about 2021.”  These are some of the many accomplishments the program enjoyed:

  • Varsity – Finished 10-2; state runnerup
  • Junior Varsity – Finished 6-3; defeated Lakewood St. Edward twice
  • Freshmen – Finished 8-3; beat Cleveland St. Ignatius and Canton McKinley
  • 8th Grade – Undefeated 8-0 season with wins over McKinley and Mentor; outscored opponents by an average of 35-9

As much as Moore is looking toward the future, he said he will miss the 33 seniors that depart this year’s team.  “It was an unbelievable season,” he said.  “I’m proud of our guys.  We made a good run in the playoffs.   This is the strongest senior class we’ve had since I’ve been here.”  In three years this class finished with an overall won-loss record of 38-4, including two undefeated regular seasons.  They won three regional playoff championships and finished as the state runnerup each year.  And they defeated Canton McKinley all three years, extending the winning streak over the Bulldogs to five games.  They won revenge games over defending state champions Akron Hoban and Cincinnati LaSalle.  And they were the second Massillon team to defeat Cleveland St. Ignatius.  And don’t forget the dominating victories over Perry in the playoffs.   They also got it done in the classroom, posting a 3.50 GPA.  “What an incredible thing to be a part of,” remarked Moore.  “I can’t think of a group I’d rather have.  Great games are won by great seniors.”

Then it was time for the awards.  First, the various assistant coaches announced individual awards within the position groups, such as letters and first and second-year honors, plus various participation momentos.  Moore emceed the big awards, which were presented by selected players.  These honors are:

  • Captain Awards – Xavier Andrews, Zach Catrone, Terrence Rankl and Andrew Wilson-Lamp
  • Brandon Burlsworth Character Award – Darien Williams
  • Thayer Munford ACT Award – Magnus Haines
  • John Pizzino, Sr. Academic Football $1,000 Scholarship – Isaiah Clark
  • Paul David Academic Award – Alex Bauer
  • Bob Smith / Bill Snyder Sportsmanship Award – Nick Liebler
  • Lee Tressel Citizenship Award – Zach Catrone
  • Lunch Pail Award – Jaiden Wise
  • Lifters of the Year – Andrew Edwards and Terrence Rankl
  • Tom Harp Coaches’ Award – Andrew Wilson-Lamp
  • Hardnose Award – Caiden Woullard
  • Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Ra’Sean Card
  • Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year – Andrew Edwards
  • Special Teams Player of the Year – Magnus Haines
  • Carl “Ducky” Shroeder Outstanding Lineman Award – Terrence Rankl and John Kouth
  • Co-Offensive Players of the Year – Jayden Ballard and Willtrell Hartson
  • Co-Defensive Players of the Year – Isaiah Clark and Caiden Woullard
  • Most Valuable Player – Martavien Johnson

All-County – Jayden Ballard, Terrence Rankl, John Kouth, Alex Bauer, Caiden Woullard, Mike Miller, Jaiden Wise, Andrew Wilson-Lamp, Martavien Johnson, Magnus Haines, Nick Liebler

All-District – 1st Team: Jayden Ballard, Andrew Wilson-Lamp, Terrence Rankl, Willtrell Hartson, Mike Miller, Caiden Woullard, Jaiden Wise (Defensive Player of the Year), Martavien Johnson, Magnus Haines; 2nd Team: John Kouth, Alex Bauer, Xavier Andrews, Isaiah Clark; Honorable Mention: Zach Catrone, Michael Billman, Jumacius Portus

All-State – 1st Team: Jayden Ballard, Terrence Rankl, Caiden Woullard, Jaiden Wise; 2nd Team: Mike Miller, Martavien Johnson, Magnus Haines; Honorable Mention: Willtrell Hartson, Andrew Wilson-Lamp

Several No. 1 performance records were set during the season, including:

  • Willtrell Hartson – Single game rushing yards – 324 vs. Canton McKinley
  • Zach Catrone – Single game pass completion percentage – 100% (10/10) vs. Perry
  • Zach Catrone – Single game yards per attempt – 23.4 vs. Perry
  • Zach Catrone – Single game pass efficiency rating – 396 vs. Perry
  • Jayden Ballard – Career receiving yards – 2,737
  • Jayden Ballard – Career receiving touchdown – 39
  • Alex Bauer – Career PAT kicks made – 205
  • Alex Bauer – Career PAT kicks attempted – 213
  • Alex Bauer – Career field goal percentage – 77.8 (21/27)
  • Magnus Haines – Career punt yards – 4,405
  • Magnus Haines – Career punt attempts – 119
  • Caiden Woullard – Career quarterback sacks – 8.5

Early NCAA signees were announced, including:

  • Jayden Ballard – Ohio State University
  • Terrence Rankl – University of Pittsburgh
  • Andrew Wilson-Lamp – West Virginia University

For those who entered the 900th win game ball raffle, it was won by George Elum.

The entire banquet can viewed at the following link:

2020 Football Banquet