Massillon Rotary Paul Brown Scholarship Recipients

The Massillon Rotary Paul Brown Scholarship was established in 1980 with the first scholarship awarded in 1981. Lee H. McCauley, a Massillon Rotarian, and Paul Brown came together to establish the Paul E. Brown Endowment Fund. Paul Brown had just published his book P.B.: The Paul Brown Story. Lee made arrangements with the publisher to purchase 1,500 books. Paul and Lee conducted a book tour where Paul provided his time and autographed books for sale. The proceeds from these book sales, together with cash contributions from Paul and The Massillon Rotary Club were the beginning funding for the Endowment. When Paul Brown passed, the Paul Brown family asked that in lieu of flowers money be contributed to the Endowment. This provided a significant increase in the funds available to award scholarships.

Paul Brown and the Massillon Rotary established the scholarship to help with the college education of any player, manager or trainer who, at a minimum, serves the WHS Tiger football team during his/her entire senior year. Applications are available at the WHS guidance office. The scholarship is awarded in the Spring and is for four years. The past recipients are shown below.

2021Xavier AndrewsJohn Carroll University
2020Anthony PedroWittenberg
2019Cameron SunkleWalsh University
2018Logan AnaniaOhio University
2017Seth BlankenshipWalsh University
2016Michael CrimaldiMalone University
2016Dakota DunwiddieKent State University
2015MacKenzie SlickerMiami University
2014Reed FichterWashington & Jefferson College
2013Brody TonnWalsh University
2012Markus DanielsThe Ohio State University
2011Craig KircherJohn Carroll University
2010Joseph StuderNotre Dame College
2009Brian AreltLiberty University
2008Blake SeidlerKent State University
2007Robb MaylorThe Ohio State University
2006Neil JamesIndiana University of Pennsylvania
2005Adam BednarThe Ohio State University
2004Andy ZalaiskalnsUniversity of Findlay
2003Matthew MartinJohn Carroll University
2002Marquis WilliamsOhio University
2001Sasha PribichThe Ohio State University
2000Seth StefankoMiami University
1999Chris RichThe Ohio State University
1998Jared StefankoMiami University
1997Steven MendenhallMalone College
1996Nathan WonsickOhio University
1995Jason MansonOhio University
1994Richard C. MerchantCornell University
1993Gerald MayYoungstown State University
1992Geoff MerchantNorthwestern University
1991Duane ScottUniversity of Dayton
1990Jim GoffCapital University
1989Jeff HarigOhio Wesleyan University
1988Tony LambertDavidson College
1987Brendan KasunickCase Western Reserve University
1986Paul FabianichCollege of Wooster
1985Kohn KroahUniversity of Pennsylvania
1984John FrankeYoungstown State University
1983Jeffrey BoernerCase Western Reserve University
1982Chuck YorkDePauw University
1981Robert JamesWittenberg University